mumsnet and me

Oh! It’s often the little things in life that makes us happy isn’t it?

Well for me it’s on the right, looks a lot like Charlie’s Angels being boiled in a pot and is my mumsnet logo.

Can you see the bit that says “Proud to be on mumsnet?” well, I am.  A few months ago I used to scroll through their threads and blogs and now I’M ON IT.  O.K, for some this might not seem a “giant leap” but for me, it’s huge.

I feel a bit like a brooding, caped crusader.  By day a working mum, travelling on an overcrowded train, far too close to other people’s sweaty armpits.  By night, a secret blogger, fighting for truth, justice and the blogging way.

Another daily rendezvous with a sweaty armpit awaits openclipart.org

Another daily rendezvous with a sweaty armpit awaits
openclipart.org

All this thanks to Jessie from the mumsnet bloggers team (apart from the Angels logo, I sorted that).

It all seemed so easy and it was initially.  Mumsnet logo for WordPress user?  Do this, that, shake it all about, hokey-cokey and hey presto, my blog was logoed.  Cool beans!

Then of course, I wanted more.  Much, much more and THAT’S when disaster struck.

Blurb describing my blog on mumsnet? Yes, that would be a good idea! Why stop there?  Why not add a picture (not of me!) but an image next to the blurb so my blog would be easily recognisable when readers scrolled through.  Oh yes, how the creative juices gushed.

NOT GOOD, PEOPLE!!!

I wanted the blurb to read “A naïve, non techie mum’s journey to blogging…etc” However, when saved to site it read “A n%”*e non techie mum’s journey… how the f%*k did I turn into an expletive?!  Help, Jessie!

An image 80×80.  Surely, you just type in “80×80” on the picture size?  Nope.  Hours of gnashing of teeth later…..Jessssieeee!

All those desperate attempts of typing “80×80” and “shrink and add picture” somehow duplicated my already c^&p blog blurb on Mumsnet.  JESSSSIEEEEE!

As an act of kindness, I have deleted the lovely Jessie’s email address forever to prevent me from turning her into a grimy jumpered, matt haired, crazy lady who throws traffic cones at unsuspecting bystanders for fun.

Jessie has I have earned my mumsnet badge and take my bloggers place on their site, in “humour” “miscellaneous” and “technology” with satisfaction and pride.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogging words, Humour, Sites I like and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

